Random Girl With Internet Access

I believe I am what they call "bleeding heart"

No – One is Taking Away Your Free speech

I try my best to be politically correct. I think carefully about what term I am going to use if I need to describe somebody’s race. I use the pronouns requested by transgendered people. I don’t use “gay” or “retarded” as insults. It’s not because I’m terrified of offending people. It’s because I don’t want to. People seem to be up against Political correctness. Of course I go against it from time to time, such as when a religion is being harmful or cult like (eyes are on you catholic church) I will insult that religion to my hearts content. Political Incorrectness should not be something we are afraid of. Here’s the good thing…no one actually is.

What I don’t understand is why I can hardly consume a weeks worth of media and conversation without hearing at least one person rant about how they are having their rights taken away, how political correctness is a threat to free speech and how this is exactly like, Nazi Germany/ Soviet Russia/ North Korea/ an Orwell Novel. Look, hears a clue if you can claim that your country is like any of those, with out any fear of being arrested  shot, or censored, then it most certainly isn’t. When was the last time you actually saw some one get banned from the telly for being non-PC? Oh right- never.

I don’t get why some people are so desperate for an end to political correctness. Are they just dying for a world in which people can use the N- word and make jokes about rape without being criticized at all?

Yes if some one is offensive there is backlash, criticism is a part of free speech. The listeners are now exercising their free speech, just as Mr. Non-PC was doing when he was being an offensive so and so. Some of them may say that he ought be banned from the telly, it is very, very, very unlikely this will happen. Why? Because it is completely risk free to say that this country is like Nazi Germany. Which means that it isn’t.

Another annoying habit of the anti political correctness brigade is the pathetic assumption that any LGBT character, any minority actor, any disabled character is their solely for the reason of making the show more PC, in order to protect it from the evil communist fascism of political correctness. This is where the fact that they are in fact prejudiced idiots is revealed. Does it not cross their minds that a non- white actor may in fact also be a good actor. Because according to them the only reason this person could possibly have made the cut is because of political correctness.

And now Michal Gove, the half-wit currently running our education system is planning on removing Mary Seacole form the national curriculum. The only black person not connected to slavery or civil rights on the British National Curriculum. My hypothesis is this is somewhat to do with the negative feeling towards political correctness in our country. GOD FORBID WE HAVE SOMETHING POLITICLY CORRECT ON OUR CURRICULUM  But its like the TV thing, its nothing to do with political correctness. She was important in the Crimean war and she deserves to be held in as high esteem as Florence Nightingale. She would have been long ago if she wasn’t black. You can sign the petition to keep her on the curriculum here: http://www.change.org/en-GB/petitions/michael-gove-secretary-of-state-for-education-keep-mary-seacole-on-the-national-curriculum

If this article annoyed you – chances are you are the reason I wrote it. I hope you know that I am not demanding that you be politically correct. I am asking that you stop pretending that anyone is. Oh and I would also appreciate it if you stopped trying to make fetch happen with the whole “discrimination is now against heterosexual, wealthy WASP men” thing. Because that is beyond annoying and stupid.

UPDATE: the petition was succsessful MAry Seacole was not only kept on the curriculum but was moved from optional to compulsory learning. Happy times.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

